Congratulations to the 2010 Atlanta Families’ Awards for Excellence in Education quarterfinalists

afaee_logo_4C_noglowAtlanta Public Schools and the Atlanta Families’ Awards for Excellence in Education are excited to announce this year’s batch of quarterfinalists for the awards, which will be announced this winter. It’s considered the “Oscars” of APS. 

Fifty-six APS teachers and principals were chosen as quarterfinalists out of 111 applicants. Those applicants are selected based on strong evidence of quantitative gains in student achievement, qualitative evidence of improving students’ self-esteem, and significant collaboration both inside and outside of their school community.  The selection committee will begin classroom observations of the quarterfinalists Nov. 9-Dec. 4.  Semifinalists will be announced in December and the winners will be announced in January in anticipation of the March 4 ceremony. (Check out the press release from last year’s awards.) Congratulations to this quarterfinalist group!


Deborah Bowling – Benteen                 Jaquada Berry – M.A. Jones
Nza Willingham – Brandon                   Kimberly Perry – Capitol View
Endia Way – Perkerson                        Erin Quackernbush – Scott
Ann-Marie Bowen – Garden Hills         Mistye Coleman – Walter White
Claudine Curry – Bolton Academy        Janice Hewey – Perkerson
Sherry Thurston-Riley – Sara Smith      Lorraine McFadden – Burgess-Peterson
Roderick Collier – Whitefoord               Kenya Greer – Cascade
Benita Edwards – Walter White            Ingrid Abella-Sly – Humphries
Rae Debose-Douglas – Miles               Precious Moon – M.A. Jones
Cathy Carter – West Manor                 Valerie Hall – D.H. Stanton
Claudia Abboud – East Lake                Deirdre Denis – Whitefoord
Melissa May – Finch                            Marionne Jones – Dobbs
Carmen Williams – Bethune                  Sharona Thomas-Wilson – Finch
Gregory Coleman – Parkside                Yolonda Patterson – Brandon                          
Karin Berry Searls – Centennial Place

Susanne Sherril – Sutton                       Sandra Centerbury – Young
Christopher Wharton – Inman         Mark Washington – Inman
Pamela Andrews – Inman                     Barry Blackmon – King
Rendell Jackson – King                        Tiarra Moore – Long
Nina Edelstein – Sutton               Ashwin Deepnarain – Harper-Archer
Ramon Garner – BEST Academy  Lyndsey Collins – Coretta Scott King Young Women’s Leadership Academy

Consuela Taylor – Drew Charter
Betty Conover – KIPP WAYS

Bernadette McAdam – Mays             Sergio Rodriguez – Grady
E. V. Martinez – Grady                  Monet Dixon – Carver/Health Sciences & Research
Patricia Merkerson – North Atlanta    Clifton Nicholson – Carver/Technology
Cadence Spearman – Grady

Anthony Dorsey – Fickett Elementary        Brian Mitchell – Mary Lin Elementary
Mable Johnson – Perkerson Elementary            Lucious Brown – Kennedy Middle
Elizabeth Harris – Long Middle      Cassandra Ashley-Miller – Hill-Hope Elementary
Melody Morgan – Coretta Scott King Young Women’s Leadership Academy

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: