16 APS educators awarded $120,000 from Atlanta Families’ Awards for Excellence

Photos (from L-R): Long Middle teacher Tiarra Moore, with Principal Elizabeth Harris and ABOE member Yolonda Johnson; Fickett Elementary Principal Anthony Dorsey with students; Captain Planet and ABOE Chair LaChandra Butler Burks with CSKYWLA Principal Melody Morgan.

Twelve APS elementary, middle and high school teachers and four principals have been awarded a total of $120,000 through the Atlanta Families’ Awards for Excellence in Education. Each award winner received a check for $7,500 during surprise presentations held at their respective schools today. The award money is designated for educational projects, professional development and personal use. The winners were selected from among dozens of applicants based on their individual efforts to spearhead student achievement, increased student self-esteem and strong collaboration with key stakeholders.

This year’s award winners are:

Lucious Brown, principal, Kennedy Middle School
Anthony Dorsey, principal, Fickett Elementary School
Cassandra Miller-Ashley, principal, Hill-Hope Elementary School
Melody Morgan, principal, Coretta Scott King Young Women’s Leadership Academy

Cathy Carter, teacher, West Manor Elementary
Rendell Jackson, teacher, Martin Luther King, Jr. Middle School
Claudia Abboud, teacher, East Lake Elementary School
Lyndsey Collins, teacher, Coretta Scott King Young Women’s Leadership Academy
Kenya Greer, teacher, Cascade Elementary School
Tiarra Moore, teacher, Long Middle School
Erin Quackenbush, teacher, Scott Elementary School
Gregory Coleman, teacher, Parkside Elementary School
Deirdre A. Denis, teacher, Whitefoord Elementary School
Nza Willinghan, teacher, Morris Brandon Elementary School
E. Vincent Martinez, teacher, Grady High School
Sergio Rodriguez, teacher, Grady High School

 “This is a very special occasion for outstanding APS educators, and we thank the Atlanta Families for this meaningful recognition of our teachers and instructional leaders,” said APS Superintendent Dr. Beverly L. Hall. “These awards clearly demonstrate the tremendous appreciation our community has for those who are committed to educating and nurturing our children.”

The contributing Atlanta Families and foundations are: The Balloun Family, Jennifer and Tom Bell, The Arthur M. Blank Family Foundation, Edie and Jim Bostic Family Foundation, Ada Lee and Pete Correll, Molly and Mike Eskew, The Marie and Brad Foster Family Fund, JCK Foundation, Inc., The Kirckpatrick Family, Billi and Bernie Marcus, The Michaels Family Charitable Foundation, The Ashley and Prescott Miller Family, Jackie and Tony Montag, Kathleen Barksdale Pattillo and Family, The Cecil Phillips Family, The Nancy and Dan Robitaille Family Fund, The Sartain Lanier Family Foundation, Inc., and Laura and Rutherford Seydel.

The 5th Annual Atlanta Families’ Awards for Excellence in Education ceremony will take place March 4.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: