APS student-athletes prepare for next step on National Signing Day

UPDATE: Watch interview with U.S. Naval Academy-bound football players Greg Eason (Mays High) and Marcus Mack (North Atlanta High) here. Watch interview with South Atlanta’s Nick Jacobs here.

We were so proud to watch as student-athletes from around Atlanta Public Schools signed on the dotted line to play for the college of their choice on National Signing Day, in a ceremony held Wednesday at Douglass High School. WXIA (11Alive) was on hand with sports anchor Sam Crenshaw to provide a livestream of the event, in which the student-athletes (mostly football players) signed the national letter of intent that seals their college commitment.

There were such nationally touted football players as Grady High’s Damian Swann (University of Georgia) and Marcus Caffey (Kentucky) as well as South Atlanta High star basketball center Nick Jacobs (Alabama) getting their moment in the sun, as well as other football players who will move on to Division I programs such as Mays High’s Darius Caldwell (Illinois) and North Atlanta’s Eddie Johnson, who made a last-second commitment to play for the University of Miami.

And then there were the feel-good stories of the day. Maynard H. Jackson High’s Lorenzo Mauldin walked onto the auditorium stage with about 15 supporters behind him. Why so many. Because, as  Jackson Coach Eric Williams explained, Mauldin had spent several years in a group home as he tried to work his way through high school. He’ll now play for the University of South Carolina, the runner-up in the Southeastern Conference.

Then there were some impressive athletic and academic success stories. Mays High lineman Greg Eason, for example, will become teammates with North Atlanta’s Marcus Mack at the U.S. Naval Academy. Another North Atlanta player, Zack Wootten, will attend Johns Hopkins University on an academic scholarship, while classmate Jim Russel is a Posse Scholar who will attend Boston University. Classmate Dara DeMateo also will attend Boston University, on a soccer scholarship; Grace Shea, her teammate, will play soccer at the University of Wisconsin (her father’s alma mater!).

It was the first National Signing Day for Jeff Beggs as the newly hired director of athletics for APS; he called National Signing Day one of the most memorable days of the year for him as an administrator.

Check out the complete list below, and come back to Talk Up APS later on for video interviews with some of these outstanding student-athletes!



Dequadis Tucker Football Scholarship – North Carolina Central
Shauntia Cobb Posse Scholarship – volleyball – Wooster
Christina Wade Posse Scholarship – soccer – BARD University
Julius Moses Football Scholarship – Albany State University
James Roberson Football Scholarship – Middle Tennessee
Nicholas Jacobs Basketball Scholarship – Alabama


Douglass Jackson Academic Scholarship – cross country Fayetteville State
Roderick Thompson Football Scholarship – Georgia State
Darius Caldwell Football Scholarship – Illinois
Greg Eason Football Scholarship – Navy
Timothy McCoy Football Scholarship – Tusculum
Devonte Bailey Football Scholarship – Tusculum


Marquise Henderson Football Scholarship – Tusculum
Maurion Raines FootballScholarship – Post Universtiy
Lorenzo Mauldin Football Scholarship – University of South Carolina


Edward Dickey Football Scholarship – Tusculum
Zack Wootten Academic Scholarship – John Hopkins
Jim Russel Posse Scholarship – football – Boston University
John Eagle Concordia
Joe Swartzmiller Concordia
Carlton Henry Tusculum
Brad Brown Concordia
Marcus Mack Navy
Chris Henderson Concordia
Eddie Johnson University of Miami
Grace Shea University of Wisconsin – Soccer Scholarship
Dara DeMateo Boston University – Soccer Scholarship


Courtney Hunter Johnson C. Smith University
Davanta Rogers Virginia Union
Zachery Witchett Hinds Community College
Adonis Lovejoy Tusculum
Dekeshion Phifer Tusculum or Tuskegee


Daron Wright Football Scholarship – UAB
Treveon Albert Football Scholarship – Fort Hays State University
Eric Brewster Football Scholarship – Valdosta State University
Dijon Elder Football Scholarship – Tusculum College
Omari Foreman Football Scholarship – Valdosta State University
Darius Hawkins Football Scholarship – Valdosta State University
Hoderick Lowe Football Scholarship – Tuskegee University
Marcus Caffey Football Scholarship – Kentucky
Damian Swann Football Scholarship – University of Georgia


Riley Lindley Football Scholarship –  Valdosta State
Karnorris Benson Football Scholarship – Western Carolina

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: