Drew Charter School named 2012 Georgia Charter School of the Year

Drew Charter School named 2012 Georgia Charter School of the Year:
School will receive $50,000 grant from The Coca-Cola Foundation

Atlanta (October 4, 2012) – Drew Charter School, one of the state’s highest performing elementary/middle schools, has been selected as the 2012 Georgia Charter School of the Year.  

The announcement was made today at the 10th Anniversary Georgia Charter Schools Association (GCSA) Charter Schools Conference, being held in Atlanta at the Georgia World Congress Center.  Hundreds of charter school teachers, school leaders, board members, school district administrators, lawmakers and charter school supporters are attending the event which runs through Friday, October 5.

As the winning school, Drew Charter School will receive a $50,000 grant from The Coca-Cola Foundation. The award was established to honor excellence in education throughout the public charter sector in Georgia. This is the second year of this partnership initiative between The Coca-Cola Foundation and the Georgia Charter Schools Association.

Drew Charter School was selected from a field of twelve public charter schools across the state of Georgia.  The three finalists included Brighten Academy in Douglasville, GA; KIPP South Fulton Academy in Fulton County; and International Community School in DeKalb County.

The primary criteria for the winner included being in existence for at least five years and demonstrating academic excellence as measured by standardized achievement tests and operational sustainability and sound fiscal practices.

Also honored at the 10th Anniversary Conference:

  • Children’s Impact Award – Coy Bowles
  • Charter Leader of the Year – David Jernigan, Executive Director KIPP Metro Atlanta
  • Charter Teacher of the Year –  Chi Wu, DeKalb PATH Academy
  • Power to the Parents Award – Kelly Marlow, Cherokee Charter Academy
  • 2012 Charter Schools Impact Award:

o   State Representative  Jan Jones

o   Dr. Arlinda J. Eaton, Dean, Bagwell College of Education at Kennesaw State University

o   Linda Zechmann, Immediate Past Chair Charter School Committee, GA State BOE

o   State Senator Chip Rogers

o   State Representative Brooks Coleman , Chair Education Committee

One thought on “Drew Charter School named 2012 Georgia Charter School of the Year

Add yours

  1. Congratulations to the Drew administration, faculty and staff on your recognition as Charter School of the Year!!

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: