APS Celebrates Board Recognition Week

During Board Recognition Week, March 18-22, Atlanta Public Schools honors the committed members of the board who dedicate countless hours serving the students, district, and community. Superintendent Erroll Davis recognized the members of the APS Board of Education at the March board meeting. Davis gave thanks to the board members for their time and unwavering dedication to their positions.

School Board Recognition Week is an annual event. Throughout the week local communities are encouraged to honor this group of  leaders for their service and commitment to the school district.

The Atlanta Board of Education establishes and approves the policies that govern the Atlanta Public School system. The Board consists of nine members, representing six geographical districts and three “at-large” districts. One person is elected per district to represent the schools in a given district for a four-year term.  The school board provides adequate resources to ensure student achievement, serves as fiscal stewards of the district, ensures accountability to taxpayers, establishes key goals for their school district, forms partnerships with others in the community, and helps to foster a safe, orderly learning environment.

Thank you to the Atlanta Public Schools Board of Education for all of their service and dedication to the citizens of Atlanta.

District 1: Brenda J. Muhammad

District 2: Byron D. Amos – Vice Chair

District 3: Cecily Harsch-Kinnane

District 4: Nancy Meister

District 5: LaChandra D. Butler Burks

District 6: Yolanda Johnson

Seat 7: Courtney D. English

Seat 8: Reuben R. McDaniel, III – Chair

Seat 9: Emmett Johnson

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: