Superintendent Erroll Davis announces newly formed Principal Advisory Council

Seeking to increase communication between the superintendent and school leaders while hearing input on various issues that affect the efficiency of school operations,

Superintendent Erroll Davis will meet quarterly with the newly formed Superintendent’s Principal Advisory Council.  The Council’s first meeting will take place Wednesday, October 30, 2013.

The Council will help drive the mission of the school district, to educate all students through academic excellence, preparing them for success in life, service and leadership, by serving the superintendent in an advisory capacity.

Consisting of principals from traditional, non-traditional and charter APS schools, the Council provides representation from all regions of the district.  Each principal was nominated by his/her peers, with the final selection for the committee being made by the superintendent.

Council members will serve staggered terms of no more than one year, and at the end of a respective term, the council will elect new members at the May meeting prior to the start of the July 1 term of the new school year.

Davis has been very clear about his expectations and vision for APS.  “This is an important period for our organization,” said Davis in a recent letter. “The decisions that we make and the plans that we implement will impact students, parents, employees and community members for years to come. It’s important that we do the correct things, and equally important, that we do them with a sense of urgency.”

The superintendent is optimistic that the council will help inform the work of the five-year strategic plan which sets the path for APS going forward, focusing on a consistent, aggressive and strategic structure of excellence for all schools.






EAST Elementary Karen Brown-Collier Dunbar
Elementary Caitlin Sims Parkside
Middle Paul Brown King
Middle Paula Herrema Inman
High Stephanie Johnson Jackson
NORTH Elementary Matthew Rogers Rivers
Elementary Susan Crim-McClendon Woodson
Middle Dione Simon Coretta Scott King
High Gene Taylor North Atlanta
SOUTH Elementary Rhonda Ware-Brazier Cleveland
Elementary Cynthia Jewell Thomasville
Middle Lisa Hill Long
High Marcene Thornton Carver Early College
WEST Elementary Diamond Jack Venetian Hills
Elementary Crystal Jones Beecher Hills
Middle Tiauna Crooms Brown
High Shelly Powell Therrell Health Sciences
NON-TRADITIONAL Evelyn Mobley West End
CHARTER Wheda Carletos KIPP Vision Primary

One thought on “Superintendent Erroll Davis announces newly formed Principal Advisory Council

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: