20 APS Seniors Named 2021 Georgia Scholars

Twenty Atlanta Public Schools high school seniors have been named 2021 Georgia Scholars. Of the students named, 12 represent Grady High School, and three are from Carver Early College. The other students represent South Atlanta, North Atlanta, KIPP Atlanta Collegiate, Maynard Jackson, and Booker T. Washington high schools. This year’s APS cohort joins a total of 323 graduating seniors from across Georgia who have been recognized as 2021 Georgia Scholars. 

This year’s APS Georgia Scholars are:

  • Wendy Nevarez-Sanchez – South Atlanta 
  • Kenneth Black – Carver Early College
  • Lesaiah Tillery – Carver Early College
  • Myla Williams – Carver Early College 
  • Honor Crandall – North Atlanta; 
  • Kaniya Ross – KIPP Atlanta Collegiate 
  • Oumy Gueye – Booker T. Washington 
  • Samantha Huray – Grady High School
  • George Lefkowicz – Grady High School
  • Justice Thompson – Grady High School
  • Sechan Tak – Grady High School
  • Erin Taylor – Grady High School
  • Jorlynn Cofield – Grady High School
  • Bryson Bien – Grady High School
  • Zoya Charania – Grady High School
  • Jack Dempsey – Grady High School
  • Inaya Abdul-Haqq – Grady High School
  • Hollis Fluker – Grady High School
  • Henry Edmeades – Grady High School 
  • Marie Wood – Maynard Jackson High School

Through the Georgia Scholar program, the Georgia Department of Education (GaDOE) identifies and honors high school seniors who have achieved excellence in school and community life. Students eligible for Georgia Scholar recognition are high school seniors who exhibit excellence in all phases of school life, in community activities, and in the home. Each Georgia Scholar will receive a seal for their diploma.

“These students have carried exemplary course loads during their four years of high school; performed excellently in all courses; successfully participated in interscholastic events at their schools and in their communities; and have assumed roles in extracurricular activities sponsored by their schools,” according to a recent press release from the Georgia Department of Education.

Click here to view the statewide list of scholars.

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: