SPARK’S Roy Jackson Named APS Library Media Specialist of the Year

Roy Jackson

By: Alicia Sands Lurry

Atlanta Public Schools proudly congratulates Roy Jackson, media specialist at Springdale Park Elementary School, for being named Library Media Specialist of the Year.

Honored in celebration of School Library Month, Jackson was recently recognized at the April 10 Board of Education Meeting. National School Library Month recognizes the contributions of school-based media centers in providing the materials and resources for teachers and students that encourages growth and knowledge and develops literary, cultural, aesthetic appreciation, and ethical standards.

Described as a dynamic media specialist and knowledgeable school leader, Jackson will now go on to represent APS at the Georgia Library Media Association(GLMA) and Georgia Association of Instructional Technology (GAIT), which co-sponsor the Georgia School Library Media Specialist of the Year award. The prestigious award recognizes K-12 library media specialists whose service has resulted in exemplary library media programs.

Warren Goetzel, media services coordinator for APS, said Jackson is an invaluable asset to the entire SPARK learning community.

“Mr. Jackson consistently goes above and beyond the call of duty to ensure that students at SPARK benefit from a wide array of library media programs and services, like coaching the Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl to the state playoffs, to sponsoring award-winning entries like the Ezra Jack Keats bookmaking competition,” Goetzel said. “He is an exemplary instructional leader, teacher, program administrator, and information specialist.”

Jackson and this year’s runner-up – Christine Tigue, media specialist at Hope-Hill Elementary School – will both receive $500 in books for their respective school libraries.

Each school system is allowed to nominate one library media specialist. District Library Media Specialists of the Year are chosen from the system-level nominees. One state Library Media Specialist of the Year is then selected from the district winners. The Georgia Library Media Specialist of the Year Award (LMSOTY) recognizes K-12 media specialists for excellence in their field through service to students, teachers and their communities.

This year’s winner will be selected by May 12.

For more information about National Library Month, visit:



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: